Just a storm fangirl post

I have been very, very bad about blogging. I arrived in Japan over two weeks ago and this is the first thing that I’ve written. So let’s just jump right in, shall we?

I’m writing in the middle of a fantastic summer storm, the second one I’ve experienced just since moving to Takaoka. It’s almost gone, having taken about twenty minutes to pass over my apartment. When I was outside to take this picture, I could watch as the edge of the storm moved towards me. Birds of all kinds were everywhere, flying ahead of the clouds.

As a Southern California native with very little prior storm experience, I’m pretty wowed. It hadn’t really occurred to me before that thunder has a point of origin; here, it’s not just a boom somewhere over my head, it’s at a specific point relative to where I’m standing. One especially incredible burst of thunder over my left shoulder several minutes ago really sounded like something breaking!

Once the clouds came over my neighborhood and the rain started, I watched as all the street lights came on to accommodate the sudden darkness. Now, in turn, I’m watching it slowly lighten up outside; landmarks are emerging once again from the total opacity of the rain just minutes ago.

So, to sum up, I’m incredibly glad I got my grocery shopping done about an hour before this all started, and I shudder at the thought of being caught outside during one of these storms (it’s bound to happen). I hope everyone in this part of the world — well, and everywhere else — is warm and dry.

One response to “Just a storm fangirl post

Leave a Reply

